Favorite Books of Katie Rickard

(No kidding—she has read all these and many more!)

Alcott, Louisa May. Jo's Boys, published in 1886.

Little Women, published in 1868.

Little Men, published in 1871.

Alexander, Lloyd. The Prydain Chronicles, a series of six books. The first, The Book of Three, was published in 1964 by Henry Holt & Company, Inc.

Coolidge, Susan. What Katy Did, published in 1872.

Farenhorst. Christine. Wings like a Dove, published in 2006 by Presbyterian and Reformed Publishing Company.

Flory, Jane. Mist on the Mountain, published in 1966 by Houghton Mifflin Company.

Harnett, Cynthia. The Wool-Pack, published in 1951 by Methuen & Co., Ltd.

Henry, Marguerite. Misty of Chincoteague, published in 1947 by Rand McNally and Co. Among her many other good books about horses are Sea Star (1949), Black Gold (1957), and Misty's Twilight (1992).

Hess, Donnalynn. A Father's Promise, published in 1987 by Bob Jones University Press.

In Search of Honor, published in 1991 by Bob Jones University Press.

Dust of the Earth, published in 1994 by Bob Jones University Press.

Juster, Norton. The Phantom Tollbooth, published in 1961 by Random House, Inc.

Kendall, Carol. The Gammage Cup, published in 1959 by Harcourt, Brace & World, Inc.

The Whisper of Glocken, published in 1965 by Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, Publishers.

Lewis, C. S. Chronicles of Narnia, a series of seven books. The first, The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, was published in 1950.

Montgomery, Lucy Maud. The Anne series, a series of eight books. The first, Anne of Green Gables, was published in 1908 by L. C. Page & Co., Inc. Other series by the same author, such as the Emily books, are not recommended.

Peretti, Frank. The Cooper Kids Adventure Series, a series of eight books. The first, The Door in the Dragon's Throat, was published in 1985 by Crossway Books.

Hangman's Curse, published in 2001 by Thomas Nelson.

Nightmare Academy, published in 2002 by Thomas Nelson.


Other titles by this author are not recommended. They drift into fascination with lurid details.

Sewell, Anna. Black Beauty, published in 1877.

Smith, Goerky. Danger Follows, published in 1998 by Bob Jones University Press.

Spyri, Johanna. Heidi, first published in 1881 as separate stories.

St. John, Patricia M. The Tanglewoods' Secret, published in 1948 by The Children's Special Service Mission and the Scripture Union. All of her books are recommended, including Treasures of the Snow (1950), Star of Light (1953), and Three Go Searching (1966).

Stowe, Harriet Beecher. Uncle Tom's Cabin, published in 1852.

Sutter, Julie. The Princess Adelina, published in 2008 by Vision Forum, Inc.

Tolkien, J. R. R. The Hobbit, published in 1936.

The Lord of the Rings, published in 1954-1955.


Among Christians, the books of Tolkien are controversial. I understand why many godly parents have doubts about a fantasy series that has spawned so many unwholesome imitations, as well as an unwholesome Hollywood version. But I myself do not think Tolkien's work should be set off limits. Nowhere else in the world of literature do we find a better portrayal of noble character. The books are outstanding in other ways also, so I think the best policy is to let our children read about Frodo and his friends. Yet I would advise parents to guard their children from taking a wrong view of magic. Tolkien uses magic simply as a literary device to convey larger meaning. Good magic represents the power of God, and the good magician represents the man of God. But although his choice of symbols makes a good story, it certainly can leave false impressions. Children should be told that real magic is always occult and real magicians are always evil.

White, John. Archives of Anthropos, a series of six books by the original author. The first book, Tower of Geburah, was published in 1978 by InterVarsity Press.

Worth, Kathryn. They Loved to Laugh, published in 1942 by Doubleday & Company, Inc.